The orchestra is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, incorporated in the state of Utah. We are able to put on great concerts each year because of continuous support from city and state governments, local businesses, individual donors, and dedicated volunteers. Thanks for your support!

We appreciate the major financial or in-kind donations we’ve received from:

Utah Division of Arts and MuseumsNational Endowment for the Arts
AltabankSalem City
Springville CitySpanish Fork City


If you like what we do and would like to contribute, here are some ways you can do so:

  • Join the orchestra
  • Make an online donation
  • Ask your employer if it has a gift matching program
  • Give cash back from your everyday online purchases via Giving Assistant
  • Volunteer to help with events, advertising, or administration
  • Encourage your business or employer to contribute its services
  • Donate used items that we could use, like good-quality percussion instruments or orchestra sheet music

To get in touch about any of these, email .

Board of Directors

The orchestra is managed by an all-volunteer board of directors. Current board members are:

  • Windy Shaffer, President
  • Aries Grogg, Vice President
  • Emily Rowley, Secretary
  • Betty Herbert, Treasurer
  • Kim Butler
  • Joe Broderick
  • Paul Wells
  • David Christofferson

Previous board members, officers, and volunteers have also been instrumental in making the orchestra successful. Former presidents include:

  • Carolyn Sorensen, 2006-2013
  • Liz Graden, 2013
  • Janice Jones, 2013-2014
  • Betty Herbert, 2014-2019


Special thanks to the volunteer musicians who donate hundreds of hours of rehearsal and practice time each season. Many, listed below, have served for four years or more:

  • Heather Allred*, Cello
  • Michelle Berube, Violin
  • LeAnn Betts, Violin
  • Sarah Blair*, Violin
  • Cassi Bradford*, Cello
  • Janet Broderick*, Oboe
  • Joe Broderick*, Clarinet
  • Kerry Burnham, Bass
  • Kimberly Butler*, Viola
  • Seth Call, Violin
  • Joye Cannell, Violin
  • David Christofferson*, Trumpet
  • Tifani Clark*, Violin
  • Russell Dastrop, Trumpet
  • Sherrie Dunford*, Conductor & Harp
  • Crystal DeGraw*, Viola
  • Lynelle Haas, Flute & Piccolo
  • Jerry Hadlock, Trumpet
  • Matt Hardy*, Trombone
  • Ron Hathcock*, Clarinet & Percussion
  • Betty Herbert*, Viola
  • David Hill, Trombone
  • Mahdi Hoseinyzad, Violin
  • Mary Jex, Cello
  • Amber Jones*, Flute
  • Catherine Jungheim, Violin
  • Peggy Sue Kerlin*, Violin
  • Frank Leany*, French Horn
  • Daniel Lundell, Violin
  • Jodie Mantilla, Oboe
  • Kay Mendenhall, Clarinet
  • Diane Miller, Cello
  • Tina Norman, Bass
  • Norm Olsen*, Violin
  • Hilarie Orman, Viola
  • Denali Roper*, Bassoon
  • Rebecca Rumfield, Violin
  • Windy Shaffer*, Tuba & Cello
  • Dan Smith, Clarinet
  • Maudie Smith*, Flute & Piccolo
  • Carolyn Sorensen, Violin
  • Aubrianna Stagg, Violin
  • Gloria Strauss-Wallace, Violin
  • Koralee Walker, Violin
  • Ali Williams, Violin
  • Leslie Wilson, Clarinet
  • Benjamin Winkler, Conductor

* Indicates current members